Blackberry Crumble

Whenever I think of my grandma, I think of blackberry crumble. I’m sure there were also blueberry crumbles and raspberry crumbles and all manner of pies and cobblers, but what I remember most was her blackberry crumble. It was sweet and jammy and impossible to stop eating. It tasted like summer. I would tiptoe downstairs and sneak spoonfuls straight out of the fridge.

It’s a long story, but we moved into her old house just over a year ago. By then the blackberry brambles were threatening to take over. We are trying our best to keep them at bay, and that means a lot of blackberry crumble.

Sadly, grandma never wrote her recipe down – I guess she made it so often she didn’t have to think about it, like breathing. She just knew what to do.

I, on the other hand, never made a crumble in my life until we moved out here, which was right around the time I turned 37. So I turned to the internets for help.

I ended up using a recipe from 101 Cookbooks as a template. The technique for the crumble was alluringly simple – melt the butter then mix it with the dry ingredients. Most of the other recipes I came across called for cutting chilled butter into the dry ingredients, which seems excessively tedious when your two-year-old is wailing and wrapped around your ankles. I also liked the use of almond flour in place of all purpose flour, which makes this version gluten-free, if you use gf oats. I did made a few tweaks here and there. I cut the sugar nearly in half (I’m a mama bear, that is how I roll). I also upped the oats, just because I like oats.

It tastes nothing like grandma’s, but I still eat it cold out of the fridge.

(So is it a crumble? Or a crisp? I always called it a crumble, but I guess technically it’s a crisp, since we are right here in the good ol’ US of A. My bad!)

A few notes: I’ve swapped out the blackberries for all sorts of fruit, to good effect. Although if you go with something very tart, such as rhubarb or cranberries, you might want to increase the sugar. We eat this with yogurt for breakfast, ermmm, the oats make it healthy, right?

Topping:

1/2 c almond flour

1/2 c nuts

3/4 c rolled oats

1/4 c sugar

1/2 tsp table salt

1/4 c + 2 tbsp coconut oil, melted

Fruit:

1 tbsp cornstarch

1 tsp lemon juice

1/4 c sugar

5 c blackberries

Preheat the oven to 375F, with rack in the middle.

Put coconut oil in a bowl and microwave until melted. Add the flour, nuts, oats, sugar and salt. Mix until thoroughly combined, then place in freezer to chill for about 10 minutes.

Put fruit in a 8×8 baking dish. Sprinkle cornstarch, sugar and lemon juice over the top. Toss fruit until evenly coated. Pull the topping from the freezer, and crumble over the fruit.

Bake for 35 to 40 minutes, until the topping is golden and the fruit juices are bubbling. Let cool before serving, heh, if you can wait.

Leave a Reply

